Travels with Children

The adventures I embark upon with my four young children.

Deardorff Orchards

Deardorff Orchards

8350 Parley Lake Rd., Waconia, MN.  www.deardorfforchards.com
Free.  Free parking (along gravel road).  Stroller accessible.  Restrooms (porta-potties) available.  Some foods available in apple store.

Fall in Minnesota wouldn’t be complete without a trip to an orchard to find some home-grown Honeycrisp apples.  Our orchard of choice this year was Deardorff Orchards, between Waconia and Victoria, Minnesota.  We arrived on a crisp September morning and parked along the road, then walked onto the farm site that is home to the orchard.  We played on the hay pile and saw a few farm animals, then boarded a flatbed, tractor-pulled wagon to pick our own apples.

When we visited Deardorff two years ago, I had three children, ages 4, 2, and 1, and I was nervous enough about the flatbed ride that we didn’t go to the pick-your-own area.  With the kids a little older, though, and the staff being willing to help me lift the stroller onto the cart (and me locking the wheels), I gave it a try, being sure we were sitting in the middle of the trailer.  The tractor deposited us in the orchard after describing where we could find various varieties of apples.  We picked some apples and then returned to the farm, where we walked through the store.  There, in refrigerators, were additional pre-picked apples, as well as pumpkins, jams and jellies, doughnuts, and other goods.  We paid for our apples and made our way back to the car.  Deardorff also has special activities, including cider and hotdogs, at certain times, and they have wagons for pulling apples or kids, and the site is picturesque enough that it served as our Christmas card picture a few years ago.  So, take the kids and your camera to Deardorff Orchards when you want some good, homegrown Minnesota apples!

3 Comments»

  Meagan Francis wrote @

I just stumbled across your site while doing some research on Minnesota family travel. What a fantastic idea! I’ve also got 4 kids (ages 22 months through almost ten) and love to be the “mom about town” with them. I also used to live in Minneapolis so I love to read about what’s happening there now. Anyway, I’ll definitely be back.

  Meagan Francis wrote @

Whoops just realized my username is attached to a site that’s moved–the new address is http://www.largerfamilies.com/drupal.

  minnemom wrote @

I’m glad you found me, and happy to know of someone else who likes to take her children out and about. We love our adventures. The start of school really put a crimp in our style!

Hope to see you back often, and I’d enjoy hearing about places you’d recommend we visit.


Leave a Reply

