Travels with Children

The adventures I embark upon with my four young children.

A special day out

Usually when I go anywhere, I have four kids in tow.  While we usually make it work quite well, there is a fair amount of stress that comes with keeping track of everyone, stopping arguments, and keeping everyone happy.

Today I had the pleasure of spending a long-awaited day out with just my oldest, who is 7 1/2.  We drove into the Cities to run some errands, eat at a restaurant I knew he’d enjoy (Pei Wei Diner, where he could have “Chinese chicken” AND watch them make it), and do something fun.

I gave him several options for our “fun” activity–a movie, a chutes and ladders park, the arboretum, and more–but even though we’ve been there several times before, he chose the Science Museum of Minnesota.

I learned that the Science Museum is a lot more fun when I’m one-on-one with a child.  He was able to set the pace and choose what he wanted to see without interference from anyone else.  We panned for jewels in the Big Backyard and did some other things, like special snacks, that I could afford for one child but would never do when the cost is multiplied by four.

All in all, we had a great day.  It’s nice to spend some special time with each of my children once in a while.

Related posts:  Star Wars at the Science Museum of Minnesota; Science Museum of Minnesota

1 Comment»

  BookMama wrote @

I really enjoy when I get to spend a day out with Book Boy (also 7). He’s old enough that he’s fairly low maintenance, we can have actual conversations, he can read (LOL), etc. I’m planning to take a day off in a couple of weeks so we can spend a day together before school starts back up. Not sure what we’ll do, but I know it will be fun!


Leave a Reply

