Travels with Children

The adventures I embark upon with my four young children.

Minnesota State Fair?

I’m thinking of taking the kids to the State Fair tomorrow.  I never plan to go to the fair, but then it gets here and I get fair fever and end up going more often than not.

The last time we went was without the kids, and I remember thinking how nice it was to go without pushing the stroller and counting heads.  I think the last time we took kids, we “only” had three and there were two adults.  If I go tomorrow, it will be with four kids and no husband.

On the other hand, if I’m going to go to the fair this year, tomorrow’s the day to do it.  The first day traditionally has the smallest crowds (by a longshot) and it’s “Thrifty Thursday” so I’d save $9 on admission and there are some other money-savers around the fair.

Then again, if I take the kids this year I’m afraid they’ll get the fair bug and want to go every year.

What do you think?  Should I be adventurous and take the kids to the State Fair?  We blocked off tomorrow for some sort of an outing, so is that where we should go?  Or will I end up wishing I hadn’t braved it?  Post your opinions in the comments, and I’ll let you know what we decide!

4 Comments»

  Cindy wrote @

I think you should go. The fair is such a great adventure for kids and depending on where you live, it may be one way for them to experience different animals and rural experiences.

  Christina @ Northern Cheapskate wrote @

I think you’d be very brave to try it solo! I’d probably try to convince a friend or grandparent to go (or maybe one of your kids could bring a friend and their parent?). Still, I think it would be a great experience for you and your family. I would just set pretty good ground rules and remember that you can always leave if things are too crazy!

  Auntie Laurie wrote @

Yes you should go! I’m jealous – the Ohio State Fair is nowhere near as much fun as the MN state fair!!

Seriously, it probably would be a challenge, but if you go early and park close it probably wouldn’t be too bad. But I’m used to just having one easy baby to take places! Actually for me it would probably depend on the weather. If it’s going to be nice, I’d do it, but if it’s hot and yucky I would probably stay indoors.

I am jealous and would love to go and be some extra hands:) At least you could get free milk at the milk booth – that would help the budget;)

Laurie

  Bob wrote @

Can someone tell me if going to the fair early, like 7am is worth it? This is something that we were told was a great time to go. Does anyone have any insight to this? We have two kids 3 and 1.5 so it seems like a time that would be a great way to introduce the fair to them.


Leave a Reply

