Travels with Children

The adventures I embark upon with my four young children.

At the orchard

One of my favorite fall things to do with the kids is to go to an orchard.  Usually we’re in search of the Minnesota favorite Honeycrisp, and today we weren’t disappointed.  We stopped at Holmberg Orchard near Vesta/Marshall, Minnesota, where we’ve gone annually for the past four or five years.  I also realized that, although the kids and I have been on 10 or 11 orchard trips in the past five years or so, hubby has only been along on one of them, so it was a treat to have him accompany us today!

Since the kids still had their church clothes on, we didn’t allow a tromp in the corn-filled boats (yes, real corn in real boats, and it is fun for kids!) but we did take the tractor-pulled hayride through the orchard.  In previous years, the wagon took us out to the pumpkin-picking area, but this year it was just a tour of the orchard.  For some of their fall events weekends, the orchard has special activities going on as well.  In past years we’ve been treated to clowns and pony rides.

While hubby and the kids picked out a huge pumpkin to carve (a steal at $5), I went into the gift shop and made our apple purchase.  I had my heart set on both Honeycrisps and Zestars, but the price deterred me from buying more than one bag and Honeycrisp won out.  (Honeycrisps were $11 for 1/2 pk bag and $20 for a pk; Zestars were $10 1/2 pk and $19/pk.) 

Before we left, we stopped in the snack bar area where we each chose between apple crisp, ice cream, or cider (hot or cold).  Older son wanted a barbecue, but we had to remind him that we’d had lunch only an hour earlier.

A trip to the orchard is always a good way to celebrate fall.  I suspect that we’ll continue our orchard treats even when our own trees (hopefully soon!) bear enough fruit that I don’t have to buy apples.

 

What orchard memories do you have?  Do you have a favorite orchard to visit? 

If you’re in Minnesota and have seen Honeycrisp or Zestar apples at better prices than I mentioned above, please let me know, as I’d love to stock the fridge.  Honeycrisps easily keep into January or February if cared for properly!

2 Comments»

  Administrator wrote @

we went to the apple orchard yesterday. Connecticut is the land of pick-your-own and we picked 2 big bags. I bet my kids would love the corn-filled boats, but we don’t have anything like that. They do have a wooden cut out with heights where we take a picture measuring the kids each year.

  Kate wrote @

I love pick-your-own places although over here it tends to be fruit such as strawberries and raspberries rather than apples. Some do vegetables too, we live about 100 yards away from a pick-your-own farm which grows delicious peas.

BTW when you say cider, what is that? We have cider in the UK, but it’s an alcoholic drink, is yours more like apple juice? I ask because I’ve often heard it mentioned and it doesn’t sound the same.


Leave a Reply

